Drevlow wins TSS annual composers competition

Brianna Drevlow is the winner of The Summer Singers’ third annual young composers competition. Her work, Eli, Eli, will be premiered as part of The Summer Singers’ 22nd season this July.

Eli, Eli was selected from a group of more than 40 submissions by The Summer Singers artistic director Russell Adrian. TSS is an a cappella ensemble of two dozen voices based in the Twin Cities. Composers in the U.S., Canada, Turkey, Russia, Israel, England, Sweden, Portugal and Poland submitted entries.

The Summer Singers’ Young Composers Initiative, now in its third season, aims to promote the music of young composers, helping them find their first or second performance of a work. The composer receives a $500 prize, three concert performances of the work and a professional recording of the piece. Composers must be 25 years of age or younger at the time of submission.

“I am looking forward to preparing Brianna's composition with The Summer Singers,” said Adrian. “It is well constructed and has interesting harmonies that portray the story of the text. The work sets up an emotional climax that will be moving to perform and listen to.”

Drevlow (b. 1993) is studying for her Masters in Composition under Mikel Kuehn at Bowling Green State University, in Ohio. Named a Minnesota Varsity Featured Artist by MPR in 2011, Drevlow earned a Bachelor of Music degree in Composition from Concordia College in Moorhead, Minnesota. She has published academic writings on aesthetics in German art song and is a conference presenter on compositional pedagogy practice at several collegiate conferences. Drevlow has won several composing competitions and her film, “Twenty-Three Words,” received acclaim for its hybrid electronic scoring.

“When I received news that my piece was to be performed by The Summer Singers, I was so excited,” Drevlow said, “not only because this group is incredibly talented themselves, but because they are willing to perform new music written by emerging composers. And as a fellow Minnesotan, it makes it that more special, as we are celebrating the power of creativity and our choral heritage together. Thank you to The Summer Singers for promoting contemporary music and local musicians!”

The Summer Singers will open their 22nd season with a concert Sunday, July 23, at 4 p.m. at St. Mary’s Chapel on the campus of the St. Paul Seminary in St. Paul, Minn. All TSS concerts are free and open to the public. More information can be found at

Winners of The Summer Singers’ Young Composers Competition:
2015: Mary Abigail Coleman, Let’s Just Sit and Swing
2016: Michael D. Atwood, Nunc dimittis
2017: Brianna Drevlow, Eli, Eli

The Summer Singers is committed to providing the community with a variety of excellent a cappella music at the highest level of artistry. TSS aims to make its music accessible to all by providing concerts on a free-will donation basis.