TSS 2016 repertoire: Sweet Dreams

Sweet Dreams is designed to create an engaging experience for our singers and our audience members to be absolutely captivated by music. Our dreams and imagination provide powerful instances that entrance our mind and transport us through time. This is the same cognitive level experience that will allow performers and listeners of all ages to become lost in the lush textures, harmonies, and melodies of a cappella music presented in “Sweet Dreams.”

Sweet Dreams will begin with This Is Why We Sing by Joshua Shank, a newly commissioned work from 2015 that celebrated twenty seasons of The Summer Singers. This innovative and mesmerizing composition builds slowly, representing the origins of music from “particles of dust in the cosmic winds,” and explodes into a great symphony of stars, birds, and other “things that make us dream and make us sing.” Performers and listeners will explore the indescribable powers of music that give us inspiration, motivation, and fantasy through the incredible works by Daniel Brinsmead, Paul Mealor, Ēriks Ešenvalds, Eric Whitacre, and Daniel Elder.

The Summer Singers 2016 Season

Joshua Shank: This is why we sing (8:00)

Daniel Brinsmead: Come Sleep (4:00)

Paul Mealor: Now Sleeps the Crimson Petal (4:00)

Young Composer piece (3:00)

Eriks Esenvalds: Only in Sleep (5:15)

First Half (24:15)


Eric Whitacre: Sleep, My Child (6:30)

Daniel Elder: Three Songs of Life and Love (12:15)

1. In Your Light (4:00)

2. A Breathing Peace (5:15)

3. Drumsound Rises (3:00)

Jake Runestad: We Can Mend the Sky (8:30)

Second Half (27:15)

**Repertoire and program order subject to change**